Click here to follow IBTimes UK's live blog between South Africa v Afghanistan

South Africa\'s openers in action
Quinton de Kock and Hashim Amla impressed with the bat against England Getty Images

Click here to follow IBTimes UK's live blog between South Africa v Afghanistan

South Africa will take on Afghanistan in the Group 1 fixture of the ICC T20 World Cup 2016 at the Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai on 20 March, Sunday.

Where to watch live

Match starts at 9.30am GMT/3pm IST. Live coverage is on Sky Sports 2 and Sky Sports 2 HD in the UK. Star Sports 1 and Star Sports 3 will telecast it in India. Click here for the live streaming link.


Both teams come into this fixture after losing their respective first fixture of the T20 World Cup. Sri Lanka defeated Afghanistan while South Africa suffered a defeat at the hands of England on 18 March.

The Proteas were hoping to seal a victory over the Three Lions after they posted a mammoth total of 229 runs for the loss of four wickets. Quinton de Kock, Hashim Amla and JP Duminy all scored half centuries and the trio were well supported by David Miller down the order.

Afghanistan made it to Super 10 after topping the qualifiers table Getty

In reply, England got off to a good start and Joe Root's 83 off 44 balls helped Eoin Morgan's side bounce back after a defeat at the hands of West Indies in their first T20 World Cup fixture.

Afghanistan lost to Sri Lanka in their opening match. The Lankans comfortably chased a target of 154 runs with seven balls to spare. They will be aware of the threat possessed by South Africa, especially as they look to bounce back after the defeat to England.


South Africa to win

Betting Odds (betfair)

  • South Africa to win: 1/14
  • Afghanistan to win: 13/2

Team News

South Africa

Squad: Quinton de Kock (wk), Hashim Amla, Faf du Plessis (c), AB de Villiers, David Miler, JP Duminy, David Wiese, Chris Morris, Kagiso Rabada, Dale Steyn, Imran Tahir


Squad: Mohammad Shahzad (wk), Noor Ali Zadran, Asghar Stanikzai (c), Karim Sadiq, Mohammad Nabi, Samiullah Shenwari, Najibullah Zadran, Shafiqullah, Rashid Khan, Dawlat Zadran, Hamid Hussain.