South Korea
South Korean Kabaddi players in action against defending champions India Getty

South Korea will take on Iran in the first semi-final of the 2016 Kabaddi World Cup at the Arena by TransStadia in Ahmedabad, Gujarat, on 21 October.

The first semi-final clash is between the team which finished on top of Pool A taking on the second- placed side from Pool B. After defeating defending champions India in the first match, South Korea went on to win all their five matches.

Dong Ju Hong's side finished on top of the group table and will be looking to continue their impressive form in the semi-final on Friday in order to book a place in the final of the Kabaddi World Cup.

Iran, on the other were on the verge of finishing on top of Pool B. However, their chances were crushed when they lost to Poland 41-25 in the final group stage fixture, which allowed Thailand to clinch the top spot.

The winner of this clash will face the winner of the second semi-final, which is set for 4:30pm BST. Host nation India will face Thailand in the other match scheduled for Friday and the winner of these two fixtures will face each other in the final.

Meraj Sheykh is the captain and a key player for the Iranian team Getty

Where to watch live

The match starts at 3:30pm BST/10.30am EST/8pm IST. Sky Sports will provide coverage of the match in the United Kingdom, while Star Sports in South Korea are the official broadcasters of the 2016 Kabaddi World Cup. Live streaming will be available on the Sky Sports' website in the United Kingdom and Hotstar in India.

TV Guide

  • United Kingdom: Sky Sports
  • India: Star Sports
  • United States: Fox Sports
  • Canada: CBN
  • Saudi Arabia: OSN Sports


South Korea: Dong Ju Hong (Captain), Tae Deok Eom, Yong Joo OK, Young Chang Ko, Jang Kum Lee, Cheol Gyu Shin, Chan Sik Park, Dong Geon Lee, Dong Gyu Kim, Jae Cheol Lee, Kim Gyung-tae, Jae Min Lee, Seong Ryeol Kim, Tae Beom Kim.

Iran: Meraj Sheykh (Captain), Fazel Atrachali, Gholam Abbas Korouki, Saeid Ghaffari, Farhad Rahimi, Mohammad Paeinmahali, Mohammad Maghsoudlou, Milad Sheibak, Hadi Tajik, Reza Kamali Moghaddam, Soleiman Pahlevani, Abolfazl Maghsoudloo, Mohammad Nabibakhsh, Mohsen Maghsoudlou Jafari