australia cricket
Leg spinner Adam Zampa has impressed in the limited overs format for Australia Getty

Sri Lanka host Australia in the fourth game of the five-match One Day International (ODI) series at the Rangiri Dambulla International Stadium on 31 August (Wednesday).

Where to watch live

Match starts at 10am BST. Live TV coverage of the match in the United Kingdom is available on British Eurosport 2.


Hosts Sri Lanka come into match on the back of a disappointing two-wicket loss in the previous encounter on 28 August.

The Lankans put up only 226 runs on the board. That they got there was due to the brilliance of Dinesh Chandimal, who hit 102, his fourth ODI ton, while the legendary T M Dilshan scored 42 in what was his final 50-over game for his country.

The bowlers tried their best to take Sri Lanka to a win, but 226 was too low a score to defend. Amila Aponso again showed why he is considered to be the next big thing to emerge from Sri Lanka, bowling with guile and control.

dinesh chandimal
Dinesh Chandimal scored his fourth ODI ton against Australia on 28 August Getty

With Dilshan retiring, the Lankan team management will look to secure a settled opening combination which might see Kusal Perera move back to the top of the order.

Australia roared back to win the third game, thereby leading the five-match series 2-1. Adam Zampa with the ball and George Bailey with the bat played key roles in their victory with the former taking 3 for 38 off his 10 overs, while the latter helped Australia chase 226 on a tricky pitch, scoring 70 off 99 balls.

Shaun Marsh who broke a finger while fielding in the third game will fly home for treatment and Usman Khawaja will most likely take his place.


Australia to win

Team news

Sri Lanka

Possible XI: Kusal Perera, Danushka Gunathilaka, Kusal Mendis, Dinesh Chandimal (wk), Angelo Mathews (c), Dhananjaya de Silva, Milinda Siriwardana, Thisara Perera, Dilruwan Perera, Amila Aponso, Lakshan Sandakan.


Possible XI: David Warner (c), Aaron Finch, Usman Khawaja, George Bailey, Moises Henriques, Travis Head, Matthew Wade (wk), James Faulkner, Mitchell Starc, Adam Zampa, Josh Hazelwood.