cpl 2016
Dwayne Bravo and Darren Sammy will be on opposite camps in the opening game of the CPL 2016 Getty

Trinbago Knight Riders take on St Lucia Zouks in the first match of the 2016 Caribbean Premier League (CPL) at Queens Park Oval Trinidad on 29 June.

Where to watch live

Match starts at 2am BST/6.30am IST (Thursday morning). Live coverage of the game is available on BT Sport and Dave TV in the UK. Sony Six and Sony Six HD will telecast it live in India. The CPL T20 app will provide live streaming of every match, which is only available on Android phones. Click here to download the app.


The Caribbean Premier League (CPL) rolls into town with the first game of the fourth edition set to start on 29 June. The opening game sees defending champions Trinbago Knight Riders take on St Lucia Zouks at the Queens Park Oval in Trinidad.

Fresh from their triumph at last year's competition, the Dwayne Bravo-led Knight Riders come into this tournament having added two powerhouses of international cricket — Brendon McCullum and Hashim Amla.

Add Umar Akmal, Darren Bravo and Ramnaresh Sarwan to the list and the Trinbago outfit have some serious firepower in the batting department.

The bowling looks a little weak and they will hope that Sunil Narine in particular fires as he will be key if they are to bowl out opposition sides.

The St Lucia Zouks too have impressive players in their ranks and will expect Shane Watson, David Miller, Darren Sammy and Morne Morkel to play key roles if they are to go ahead and challenge for the title this year.

The St Lucia outfit also have experienced West Indies players in their squad who will play an important part due to their familiarity with the conditions.,The pitches in certain grounds tend to be slow and low which are ideal for spinners.


Trinbago Knight Riders to win

Betting odds (betfair)

  • Trinbago Knight Riders to win: 4/6
  • St Lucia Zouks to win: 23/20

Team news

Trinbago Knight Riders

Squad: Hashim Amla, Ronsford Beaton, Suliemann Benn, Dwayne Bravo (c), Darren Bravo, Yannic Cariah, Kevon Cooper, Anton Devcich, Hamza Tariq, Brendon McCullum, Nikita Miller, Colin Munro, Sunil Narine, William Perkins, Anderson Philip, Ramnaresh Sarwan, Javon Searles, Umar Akmal (wk).

St Lucia Zouks

Squad: Johnson Charles, Miguel Cummins, Derone Davis, Andre Fletcher, Michael Hussey, Delorn Johnson, Nitish Kumar, Eddie Leie, Keddy Lesporis, Kyle Mayers, David Miller, Morne Morkel, Gidron Pope, Denesh Ramdin (wk), Kristopher Ramsaran, Darren Sammy (c), Shane Shillingford, Shane Watson.