The White House has released the salary details of the nearly 400-strong executive branch of Donald Trump's government.

The report reveals that the top staff inside Trump's government earn $179,700 a year, including the likes of Sean Spicer, Steve Bannon and Kellyanne Conway.

The list of salaries, which is required by Congress, starts off at $47,000 and goes up to the top amount which is earned by 22 officials.

The capped figure of $179,700 is a rise compared to the top earnings under the Obama administration of $176,461, however White House salaries rise each year with inflation.

One person is earning above the capped rate – Mark House, who is on loan from the Federal Aviation Administration and is helping the White House with a short-term project. He is earning $187,100.

The report also confirms that husband and wife, Jared Kushner and Ivanka Trump don't receive a salary, after promising not to do so during the run up to the campaign.

White House disclosures in April revealed that the pair had an estimated net value of more than $740m.

Donald Trump earns $400,000 a year as president, but on the election campaign, he promised to decline it.

However, Article Two of the US constitution requires the president to be paid, so instead Trump will be accepting a token figure of $1, with the rest being donated.

His January-March salary of $78,333 was given to the National Park Service.

Here is the full list of those earning the top rate of $179,700:

  • Stephen Bannon, chief strategist and senior counselor
  • Thomas Bossert, assistant to the president for homeland security and counterterrorism
  • Andrew Bremberg, Domestic Policy Council director
  • Kellyanne Conway, senior counselor
  • Ricky Dearborn, the deputy chief of staff for legislative, cabinet, intergovernmental affairs and implementation
  • John DeStefano, director of presidential personnel
  • Jason Greenblatt, special representative for international negotiations
  • Joseph Hagin, deputy chief of staff for operations
  • Hope Hicks, director of strategic communications
  • Joseph Kellogg Jr., executive secretary and chief of staff for the National Security Council
  • Omarosa Manigault, director of communications for the Office of Public Liaison
  • Kathleen McFarland, deputy national security adviser
  • Donald McGahn, chief counsel
  • Stephen Miller, senior adviser for policy
  • Robert Porter, White House staff secretary
  • Dina Powell, deputy national security adviser for strategy
  • Reince Priebus, Trump's chief of staff
  • Lindsay Reynolds, chief of staff to first lady Melania Trump
  • Dan Scavino, director of social media
  • Marc Short, director of the Office of Legislative Affairs
  • George Sifakis, director of the Office of Public Liaison
  • Sean Spicer, press secretary