The Best Fifa Football Awards 2016

  • Stars of world football past and present descend upon the green carpet of Zurich's TPC studios for inaugural ceremony
  • Cristiano Ronaldo beats Lionel Messi and Antoine Griezmann to win first Best Fifa Men's Player Award
  • Carli Lloyd scoops Best Women's Player Award as Leicester's Claudio Ranieri and Silvia Neid both receive coaching honours
  • Mohd Faiz Subri scoops Fifa Puskas Award for the best goal of 2016
  • Liverpool and Borussia Dortmund supporters recognised with Fan Award
  • Messi not in attendance after Barcelona, who host Athletic Bilbao in the Copa del Rey on Wednesday, confirmed that none of their recognised players would be travelling to Switzerland
  • Fifa launch new central prize after ending their six-year Ballon d'Or collaboration with France Football magazine
Cristiano Ronaldo and Gianni Infantino

That just about wraps up our live coverage of the inaugural Best Fifa Football Awards. Thanks for joining us and be sure to stay tuned to IBTimes UK for post-ceremony reaction.

Before we leave you, here's a full rundown of tonight's winners...

The Best Fifa Men's Player Award - Cristiano Ronaldo

The Best Fifa Women's Player Award - Carli Lloyd

The Fifa Puskas Award - Mohd Faiz Subri

The Best Fifa Men's Coach Award - Claudio Ranieri

The Best Fifa Women's Coach Award - Silvia Neid

The Fifa Fair Play Award - Atletico Nacional

The Fifa Fan Award - Liverpool and Borussia Dortmund supporters

Fifa Award for an Outstanding Career - Falcao


In all seriousness, what a year 2016 was for Ronaldo. He scored 16 goals in 12 matches to help Real Madrid seal an 11th European title and even notched the winning penalty in a final shootout against rivals Atletico in Milan.

Being withdrawn in tears during the first half of the Euro 2016 final against France was a bitter pill to swallow, but the four-time Ballon d'Or winner certainly played his part in leading Portugal to their first major tournament triumph.

He has long since secured near top billing in the pantheon of all-time footballing greats.


It's Ronaldo. Who saw that coming?!

Cristiano Ronaldo


Fifa president Gianni Infantino takes the stage for the main award of the night - the Best Men's Player 2016.

Will Ronaldo win as expected, or can the absent Messi spring a surprise? We are about to find out...


Lloyd takes it. The United States and Houston Dash midfielder, a double Olympic and World Cup champion, also won the Fifa World Player of the Year award in 2015.

Carli Lloyd and Gabriel Batistuta


After another musical interlude, Gabriel Batistuta comes out to present the penultimate award of the evening for Best Fifa Women's Player.

Melanie Behringer, Carli Lloyd and Marta are your nominees.


Penang's Malaysian playmaker Mohd Faiz Subri wins for his incredible 'knuckleball' free-kick notched against Pahang FC last February.

Be sure to check it out if you haven't already.

Ronaldo and Mohd Faiz Subri


Here's the original Ronaldo to present the Fifa Puskas Award for best goal of 2016. This is always a good one.

An initial shortlist of 10 - featuring the likes of Messi, Neymar and Hal Robson-Kanu - was eventually whittled down to a trio of Marlone, Daniuska Rodriguez and Mohd Faiz Subri.


Brazilian futsal legend Falcao - no, not that one - receives the Fifa Award for an Outstanding Career from Andriy Shevchenko.


Claudio Ranieri beats Fernando Santos and Zinedine Zidane. Another memorable footnote in an extraordinary period for Leicester.

"I'm crazy now," says the Italian, who predictably invites guffaws from the crowd.

Claudio Ranieri and Diego Maradona


A certain Diego Maradona takes the stage to hand out the Best Fifa Men's Coach Award...


Colombian outfit Atletico Nacional deservedly win the the Fifa Fair Play gong, which was decided upon by a special panel comprising of Gabriel Batistuta, Marta, Howard Webb, Vladimir Petkovic and Adolf Ogi.

Juan Carlos de la Cuesta

Chairman Juan Carlos de la Cuesta receives the award from former Barcelona stalwart Carles Puyol. It was given for the club's reaction to the Medellin air disaster that killed 71 people including 19 players and coaching staff from Brazilian club and Copa Sudamericana final opponents Chapecoense.


Here's a snap of the Fifa FIFPro World 11 winners, minus the Barcelona players of course, receiving their trophies earlier this evening...

Fifa FIFPro World 11


Silvia Neid wins it. The 52-year-old World Cup winner guided Germany to Olympic gold in Rio de Janeiro before stepping down to take up a scouting role with the German Football Association (DFB).

Silvia Neid


Frank Rijkaard will reveal the winner of the The Best Fifa Women's Coach Award next.

The USA's Jill Ellis, former Germany head coach Silvia Neid and Sweden's Pia Sundhage are the trio in the running for this one.


A statistical breakdown reveals that Liverpool and Borussia Dortmund supporters received 45.92% of the vote. Iceland, whose football federation have pointed out on Twitter that fans in the country have been unable to access Fifa's live stream of the ceremony, achieved 31.37% following their exploits at Euro 2016 and ADO Den Haag supporters 22.71%.

The latter were widely praised for showering sick children from Sophia's Children's Hospital in Rotterdam with cuddly toys during an Eredivisie clash against Feyenoord in September.


Liverpool and Borussia Dortmund supporters pick up the award for their spine-tingling rendition of "You'll Never Walk Alone" that was belted out in unison before last April's Europa League quarter-final second-leg tie at Anfield.


That, a mosaic and a minute's silence commemorated the 27th anniversary of the Hillsborough disaster.


Former Leeds favourite Lucas Radebe and Russian pole vaulter Yelena Isinbaeva are set to present this award, which was voted for by fans.

The nominees are ADO Den Haag supporters, Borussia Dortmund-Liverpool supporters and Iceland supporters.


After an emotional video paying tribute to footballing legends Johan Cruyff and Carlos Alberto, both of whom passed away in 2016, we move on to the Fifa Fan Award.

Johan Cruyff
Getty Images


Griezmann appears to be the most surprising omission from that World 11, which is unsurprisingly dominated by players from Barcelona and Real Madrid.

Iniesta sends a video message from Spain apologising for his absence and that of his teammates from tonight's ceremony.


Fifa FIFPro World 11 winners:

GK: Manuel Neuer (Bayern Munich)

DF: Dani Alves (Juventus)

DF: Gerard Pique (Barcelona)

DF: Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid)

DF: Marcelo (Real Madrid)

MF: Luka Modric (Real Madrid)

MF: Toni Kroos (Real Madrid)

MF: Andres Iniesta (Barcelona)

FW: Lionel Messi (Barcelona)

FW: Luis Suarez (Barcelona)

FW: Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid)


First on the agenda after a tedious explanation of the new trophies is the Fifa FIFPro World 11.

According to Fifa: "The award recognises the best players in each position based on their performances during the period from 1 December 2015 to 28 November 2016 inclusive. The winners are selected by over 45,000 professional players from around the world with each vote carrying the same weight."


After an entertaining performance from innovative American cappella group Naturally 7, Schreyl and Longoria take the stage.

Let's get this shindig underway.


Tonight's awards, we should mention, are being hosted by German television presenter Marco Schreyl and American actress Eva Longoria.

Eva Longoria