Chelsea have been crowned Premier League champions for the first time since 2010 following a 1-0 victory over Crystal Palace at Stamford Bridge on 3 May.

José Mourinho's side, who have led the way at the summit of the top-flight for most of the season but also attracted criticism for a perceived lack of attacking intent during some of their performances, secured their 25th win of a truly dominant campaign after PFA Player of the Year Eden Hazard headed home the rebound from his own missed first-half penalty.

While they failed to add to their tally after the break, Palace rarely threatened to spoil the party and Chelsea comfortably saw out a deserved win that means Arsenal are no longer able to catch them even with two games in hand.

"When you work so hard and you're champions you feel you got what you deserve. It's a good feeling… a special feeling," Mourinho was quoted by the club's official Twitter account after winning his third Premier League title overall and his first since returning to West London in June 2013.

"I will try [for] another one. I will try always. The day I don't feel the passion to try again, I stop. We showed everything since day one. Everything football demands from a team, we had that.


"From January 1, not one single defeat. Without Diego, Matic, Remy, Ramires… The team was always there. We deserve. After a fantastic generation here, Lampard, Cole, Essien, Carvalho, Ferreira, a new team won again."

Chelsea host Liverpool next on 10 May, before finishing off with matches against West Brom and Sunderland respectively.