IPL 2016
Sunrisers Hyderabad beat Royal Challengers Bangalore in the IPL 2016 final Getty

Sunrisers Hyderabad sealed an eight-run victory over Royal Challengers Bangalore to win the 2016 Indian Premier League Final at M. Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bangalore.

Despite boasting a fearsome batting line-up, Royal Challengers Bangalore were unable to chase their target of 209 runs against David Warner's impressive outfit.

Virat Kohli lost the toss again at the start of an action-filled evening under the floodlights, and Warner elected to bat first. The in-form Australian's decision paid off in spectacular fashion as the Sunrisers posted a mammoth total of 208.

Once again, Warner impressed with the bat, scoring another belligerent 69, while his opening partner Shikhar Dhawan contributed 28. Their innings' were supplemented by Yuvraj Singh, who made 38 off 23 balls in the middle overs.

Still, RCB appeared set to restrict the Sunrisers to a score of less than 200, until Shane Watson hemorrhaged runs at the death to allow the lesser-fancied side to post an intimidating target. The Australian all-rounder conceded 61 runs in his four overs, with Ben Cutting's unbeaten 39 off 15 providing some late-innings impetus.

However, Royal Challengers Bangalore - with Kohli, Chris Gayle and AB de Villiers in their side- will still have fancied their chances of chasing down the target. The much-hyped batting line-up got off to a flyer thanks to Kohli and Gayle, with the burly West Indian scoring 76 runs off 38 balls.

Gayle was dismissed when Bipul Sharma took a diving catch at third man off the bowling of Cutting. His skipper, meanwhile, edged the ball back onto his stumps on 54, and de Villiers joined him back in the dugout shortly afterwards.

By now, the pressure was mounting on Royal Challengers Bangalore. Kohli's men lost wickets at regular intervals and their victory target became an increasingly less likely prospect with every dot ball.

Ultimately, the star-studded batting line-up could not score the necessary runs and Warner lifted the coveted trophy for the Sunrisers.