Nottinghamshire seam bowler Jake Ball and Hampshire batsman James Vince have been named in England's 12-man squad for the First Investec Test against Sri Lanka at Headingley. They are the only uncapped players named in the squad for the first international match of the English summer.

Ball, 25, has been rewarded for his impressive start to the Specsavers County Championship season, which has seen him take 19 wickets at an average of 21.15 and establish himself as the joint leading wicket-taker in the First Division. The right-armer also spent the winter with the England Lions in the UAE.

Vince, meanwhile, is averaging 44.50 with the bat in the County Championship this season, including 119 against defending champions Yorkshire at Headingley last month. The Hampshire captain has already played for England at one-day and T20 level, and is now set to debut in the Test match against the touring Sri Lankans.

James Whitaker, ECB National Selector, said in a statement: "Both Jake Ball and James Vince thoroughly deserve their opportunity having performed well with the England Lions and starting the season in good form with their respective counties.

"Building on his success with the Lions in the winter, Jake has impressed with the ball and shown excellent control and skill in the opening matches of the County Championship. If selected, we are confident he will perform very well at international level.

"James has been a consistent performer for Hampshire and England Lions over the past few years. He is already well regarded by the England coaches in the short format and now has the opportunity to showcase his skills at Test level."

Elsewhere, the selectors have retained batsmen Nick Compton and Alex Hales, both of whom underwhelmed during England's victorious Test series against South Africa. The squad will meet up for the first time on Monday (16 May) in Leeds.

Meanwhile, England also named a 30-man performance squad for the 2016 summer, which includes the likes of Zafar Ansari, Jamie Overton and Liam Dawson. However, the selectors stressed it does not confine them to pick players from within the squad.

England Test squad: Alastair Cook (Essex, Captain), Moeen Ali (Worcestershire), James Anderson (Lancashire), Jonny Bairstow (Yorkshire), Jake Ball (Nottinghamshire), Stuart Broad (Nottinghamshire), Nick Compton (Middlesex), Steven Finn (Middlesex), Alex Hales (Nottinghamshire), Joe Root (Yorkshire), Ben Stokes (Durham)

England 30-man Performance Squad: Moeen Ali (Worcestershire), James Anderson (Lancashire), Zafar Ansari (Surrey) Jonny Bairstow (Yorkshire), Jake Ball (Nottinghamshire), Gary Ballance (Yorkshire), Ian Bell (Warwickshire), Sam Billings (Kent), Stuart Broad (Nottinghamshire), Jos Buttler (Lancashire), Nick Compton (Middlesex), Alastair Cook (Essex), Tom Curran (Surrey), Liam Dawson (Hampshire), Steven Finn (Middlesex), Mark Footitt (Surrey), Alex Hales (Nottinghamshire), Chris Jordan (Sussex), Eoin Morgan (Middlesex), Jamie Overton (Somerset), Liam Plunkett (Yorkshire), Adil Rashid (Yorkshire), Joe Root (Yorkshire), Jason Roy (Surrey), Ben Stokes (Durham), Reece Topley (Hampshire), James Vince (Hampshire), David Willey (Yorkshire), Chris Woakes (Warwickshire), Mark Wood (Durham)