The Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC) is on a political knife-edge after President Joseph Kabila stayed in power on Tuesday (20 December) despite the expiration of his last constitutional term in office, but his administration announced a new government in an apparent effort at appeasing opposition criticism.

Presidential elections were scheduled for November 2016 but will not now take place until April 2018 for logistical reasons, until when a court ruling earlier stated that Kabila should stay on in a move critics claim to be violation of the Constitution.

Despite critics accusing Kabila of holding on to power by letting his term run out and manipulating the judiciary, Kabila last month appointed opposition politician Samy Badibanga as prime minister, under a controversial power-sharing deal agreed earlier under a so-called "national dialogue".

Badibanga published his new 67 member interim government at 23.55pm on state TV – five minutes before Kabila's official mandate ended on 19 December at midnight. The number of posts was increased from 47 to 67.

"The government of Badibanga came out nightly, while the Congolese demanded the departure of Joseph Kabila with whistles," is how local journalist Franck Ngonga described the announcement. Here are the top posts under Badibanga's extended interim government – many of them went to opposition members.

Badibanga's announcement came under criticism, from both opposition ranks and ordinary citizens.

"The publication of Badibanga's government makes me fear an escalation. Let us all act for compromise and beware of extremists," Juvenal Muanda, general secretary of the doctors union (SYMECO), said.

Congolese political analyst, Ricky Mongbondo summarised: "Samy Badibanga and his government chose the wrong side of the story. We will never forgive them."

A biker drives past a sign asking for President Joseph Kabila's resignation on an avenue in Kinshasa on 19 December 2016, as tensions rose as Kabila's last term ended EDUARDO SOTERAS/AFP/Getty Images