Tottenham Hotspur winger Gareth Bale has been named the Football Writers' Association Footballer of the Year to complete a momentous treble for the Welshman.

Bale was confirmed as the Professional Footballers' Association Players' Player of the Year and Young Player of the Year on Sunday and becomes only the second player since Cristiano Ronaldo to win the three awards in one season.

The Welshman received 53% of the vote, ahead of last year's winner Robin van Perise (43%) and Chelsea's Juan Mata, Rickie Lambert, Christian Benteke and Leighton Baines were among others to be voted for.

Gareth Bale
Bale becomes the second player to win the PFA, young player and FWA player of the year awatrds.

Liverpool's Luis Suarez was voted for just twice after his bite on Chelsea defender Branislav Ivanovic, which saw The Football Association ban the Uruguayan for 10 matches.

"It is a huge honour to receive the Footballer of the Year award from the Football Writers' Association," Bale said, who won the PFA Player of the Year award in 2011.

"It means a lot to win this award when you consider the number of players that have been outstanding for their clubs in the Barclays Premier League this season.

"I've been very fortunate to be playing in such a fantastic team and I owe a lot to my team-mates and, obviously, the manager who has shown such faith in me.

"This award has been won in the past by some of the greatest names in football and I consider it a privilege that the FWA have selected me to be named alongside them."

The 23 year old has scored 28 goals in 49 games for club and country this season, propelling Tottenham into contention for a Champions League place in Andre Villas-Boas' first season as manager at White Hart Lane.