The German trio of Rene Enders, Stefan Botticher and Maximilian Levy upset the favourites on Thursday (February 21) to clinch the men's team sprint title on the second day of the world championships in Minsk.

The trio of Laura Trott, Dani King and Elinor Barker brought Britain their first gold in the Belarus capital, the Olympic champions crushing Australia in the women's team pursuit final by nearly two seconds.

Defending champion Michael Hepburn of Australia sped around the track in the individual pursuit to record four minutes 16.733 seconds, beating Ireland's Martyn Irvine in the men's final by almost eight seconds to give Australia their third consecutive gold medal in the event.

Under an hour later Martyn Irvine was back on the track again and this time he won gold in the 15km scratch race to add to his silver.

It was the first time Ireland had won a men's medal at the world championships for over 100 years.

Presented by Adam Justice