India are the defending champions of the Kabaddi World Cup Getty

India take on Thailand in the second semi-final of the 2016 Kabaddi World Cup at the Arena by TransStadia in Ahmedabad, Gujarat, on 21 October.

The defending champions lost the opening match of the tournament to South Korea. However, they bounced back and went on to win the next four matches, clinching 21 points in the process.

This allowed Anup Kumar's side to finish second in the Pool A table and thus they will face Thailand, who finished on top of Pool B in the second semi-final clash of the Kabaddi World Cup.

India have won the World Cup on the previous two occasions and have an opportunity to win it for the third consecutive time. They are two wins away from achieving this success and Kumar and his men will be eager to showcase their talent.

Thailand eclipsed Iran for the top spot in Pool B after the latter suffered a defeat against Poland in the last group stage fixture, which allowed Khomsan Thongkham to clinch the top spot. They will have a tough task at their hands, defeating the host nation.

South Korea and Iran face each other in the first semi-final and the winner of this clash will face either India or Thailand in the final of the 2016 Kabaddi World Cup on Sunday, 22 October.

Thailand suffered a crushing defeat against Iran in their first match of the 2016 Kabaddi World Cup Getty

Where to watch live

The match starts at 4:30pm BST/11.30am EST/9pm IST. Sky Sports will provide coverage of the match in the United Kingdom, while Star Sports in India are the official broadcasters of the 2016 Kabaddi World Cup. Live streaming will be available on the Sky Sports' website in the United Kingdom and Hotstar in India.

TV Guide

  • United Kingdom: Sky Sports
  • India: Star Sports
  • India of America: Fox Sports
  • Canada: CBN
  • Saudi Arabia: OSN Sports


India: Anup Kumar (Captain), Ajay Thakur, Deepak Niwas Hooda, Dharmaraj Cheralathan, Jasvir Singh, Mohit chillar, Manjeet Chhillar, Pardeep Narwal, Sandeep Narwal, Surendra Nada, Rahul Chaudhari, Surjeet, Nitin Tomar, Kiran Parmar.

Thailand: Khomsan Thongkham (Captain), Aniwat Phakphian, Chanwit Wichian, Phodsawi Sawangyai, Pramot Saising, Santi Bunchoet, Warit Songsri, Sarawut Hopet, Khunakon Chanjaroen, Kittichai Kanket, Peeradach Jantajam, Phuwanai Wannasaen, Sasithon Rungsawang, Tin Phonchoo.