Kevin Pietersen
Kevin Pietersen will be the key player for the Stars in the 2015/16 Big Bash League (BBL) final Getty

Click here to follow IBTimes UK's Live blog between Melbourne Stars v Sydney Thunder

Melbourne Stars will take on Sydney Thunder in the final of the 2015/16 Big Bash League (BBL) at the Melbourne Cricket Ground on 24 January (Sunday).

Where to watch live

Match starts at 8:20am GMT. Live TV coverage is available on Sky Sports 3 and Sky Sports 3 HD. Click here for the live streaming link.


Neither Melbourne Stars nor the Thunders have won the BBL and there will be a new champion following Sunday's final at the MCG. The Hussey brothers will be the captains in the final as Michael Hussey will be leading the Sydney-based outfit, while his younger brother David Hussey will captain the Stars. It will be Michael's final appearance as a professional cricketer on Australian soil in the final.

When these two teams met earlier in the group stage fixture in Melbourne, it was Sydney Thunder who managed to walk away with a win by a narrow margin of one run. It was Usman Khawaja's unbeaten 109 off 70 deliveries that helped his side seal a victory.

Usman Khawaja
Usman Khawaja's unbeaten century helped Sydney Thunder make it to the final of the 2015/16 Big Bash League (BBL) final Getty

The opening batsman's another unbeaten 104 in the first semi-final saw them register an eight-wicket victory with over two overs to spare against Adelaide Strikers. The pressure will be on Khawaja to fire with the bat as he has been the team's explosive batsmen this season.

For Melbourne, Kevin Pietersen will be the key player in the final after his explosive 62 off 36 deliveries helped his side make it to the final after defeating Perth Scorchers in the second semi-final. The Englishman's early wicket will be key for the Thunder, along with the wicket of his compatriot Luke Wright.


The weather conditions could play a role in deciding the winner in the BBL final. According to Accuweather, showers are expected earlier in the day time on Sunday, followed by partly clouds with couple of showers later in the night.


Syndey Thunder to win

Betting Odds (

  • Melbourne Stars to win: 11/13
  • Sydney Thunder to win: 19/20

Team News

Melbourne Stars

Possible XI: Marcus Stoinis, Luke Wright, Kevin Pietersen, Peter Handscomb (wk), David Hussey (c), Rob Quiney, Evan Gulbis, Adam Zampa, Ben Hilfenhaus, Daniel Worrall, Michael Beer

Sydney Thunder

Possible XI: Usman Khawaja, Shanw Watson, Mike Hussey (c), Henry Nicholas, Ben Rohrer, Andre Russell, Chris Green, Chris Hartley (wk), Clint McKay, Fawad Ahmed, Nathan McAndrew