Jorge Lorenzo
Jorge Lorenzo is the new MotoGP World Champion Getty

Yamaha rider Jorge Lorenzo managed to beat his teammate Valentino Rossi to clinch the 2015 MotoGP World Champion after winning the final race of the season during the Valencia Grand Prix. The Spaniard, who clinched the pole, managed to keep the top spot throughout Sunday's (8 November) race.

Rossi was forced to start the race from the back of the grid after Race Directions handed him a penalty for kicking Honda rider Marc Marquez during the 2015 Malaysian Grand Prix. The Italian rider had appealed for his penalty to be overturned but his plea was turned down by the Court of Arbitration for Sport (CAS).

Before the start of the race, Lorenzo was seven points behind his teammate. With Rossi starting from the back of the grid, it gave the Spaniard an advantage over the 36-year-old to beat him for the World Championship title.

Lorenzo clinched his fifth world championship title after winning the final race of this season. Honda rider Marc Marquez was second, while his teammate Dani Pedrosa was third.

Rossi, who started from the back of the grid, moved into the top 10 even before the end of the fourth lap. In the 13th lap, he moved into the top four. However, Lorenzo, Marquez and Pedrosa were way ahead of the Yamaha rider and it was difficult for him to catch up with the Spanish trio.

The Honda duo played a crucial role in helping Lorenzo win the World Championship. In the final few laps, Pedrosa managed to overtake Marquez, only for the two-time MotoGP champion to come and regain his second spot.

This has been one of the best races of the season. Rossi would be really disappointed after losing the championship. It is for the first time Lorenzo has won the championship since 2012 as Marquez had won it in the last few years.

Full Race Results of 2015 Valencia Grand Prix:

1. Jorge Lorenzo (ESP) Yamaha 45:59.364s
2. Marc Marquez (ESP) Honda 45:59.627s
3. Dani Pedrosa (ESP) Honda 46:0.018s
4. Valentino Rossi (ITA) Yamaha 46:19.153s
5. Pol Espargaro (ESP) Tech 3 46:25.368s
6. Bradley Smith (GBR) Tech 3 46:28.199s
7. Andrea Dovizioso (ITA) Ducati 46:28.250s
8. Aleix Espargaro (ESP) Suzuki 46:33.586s
9. Cal Crutchlow (GBR) LCR 46:35.288s
10. Danilo Petrucci (ITA) Pramac 46:38.943s
11. Maverick Viñales (ESP) Suzuki 46:39.110s
12. Michele Pirro (ITA) Ducati 46:46.417s
13. Yonny Hernandez (COL) Pramac 46:53.445s
14. Alvaro Bautista (ESP) Aprilia 46:56.010s
15. Scott Redding (GBR) Estrella 46:56.642s
16. Hector Barbera (ESP) Avintia 46:56.727s
17. Nicky Hayden (USA) Aspar 46:58.106s
18. Stefan Bradl (GER) Aprilia 46:58.450s
19. Loris Baz (FRA) Forward 47:3.703s
20. Toni Elias (ESP) Forward 47:3.777s
21. Jack Miller (AUS) LCR 47:4.576s
22. Anthony West (AUS) AB Motoracing 47:26.645s