Pakistan, South Africa
Mohammad Hafeez [Reuters] Reuters

Pakistan take on Sri Lanka in the second of the three-match Test series scheduled between the sides on Wednesday. The game will be played at the at the Dubai International Cricket Stadium.

Where to Watch Live

Play starts at 6:00am GMT. Live coverage of the game in the UK will be available on Zee Cinema. Follow live text commentary of the game on ESPN Cricinfo.


Pakistan entered the series on winning the five-match One Day Internationals series 3-2. The first of the three-match series ended in a draw after excellent batting performance from both sides could not lead either team to victory within five days.

Sri Lanka's first innings ended quickly on 204 runs on day one. But Pakistan marched to a 179 run lead courtesy of centuries by Younis Khan (136) and Misbah-ul-Haq (135). The hosts managed to score 383 runs by the end of their first innings.

The Lankan batting lineup was not to shy away and responded strongly with Angelo Matthews scoring 157 runs. Kaushal Silva (81), Kumar Sangakkara (55), Dinesh Chandimal (89) and Prasanna Jayawardene (63) completed their half-centuries as Sri Lanka declared their second innings with 480 runs on the scoreboard.

However, with only one day remaining the hosts held out for a draw knowing that a target of 301 is a difficult one to chase on the final day. Ahmed Shehzad (55) and star of the ODI Mohamman Hafeez (80) withstood the Lankan bowlers to ensure that the match ends in stalemate.

The hosts will be hoping to gain the upper hand right from the beginning in the second test but the visiting skipper will hope for a similar resilient display from his team in the second test.

Team News


Probable Lineup: Khurram Manzoor, Ahmad Shahzad, Mohammad Hafeez, Younis Khan, Misbah-ul-Haq (capt), Asad Shafiq, Sarfraz Ahmed (wk), Abdur Rehman, Bilawal Bhatti, Saeed Ajmal, Junaid Khan

Sri Lanka

Probable Lineup:

Dimuth Karunaratne, Kaushal Silva, Kumar Sangakkara, Mahela Jayawardene, Dinesh Chandimal Prasanna Jayawardene (wk), Angelo Mathews (capt), Sachithra Senanayake, Rangana Herath, Nuwan Pradeep, Suranga Lakmal