Sohail Khan
Pakistan's Sohail Khan celebrates after dismissing AB de Villiers of South Africa [Getty]

Click Here to follow IBTimes UK's Live Blog between Pakistan v Ireland

Pakistan will take on the Ireland in a Group B clash of the 2015 ICC World Cup at Adelaide Oval on Sunday.

Where to watch live

The match starts at 3.30am GMT. Live coverage is on Sky Sports 2 and Sky Sports 2 HD. Click here for live streaming link.


The clash between Pakistan and Ireland will be their last group stage match of this edition of the World Cup. In the past few days, there have been a few dead rubber fixtures, but this is a crucial match for both sides as both Ireland and Pakistan stand a chance to qualify for the knockout phase of the tournament.

However, for them to qualify for the quarter finals, UAE will have to defeat West Indies on Sunday. A win for West Indies will then see one of the two teams qualify for the next round.

Niall O'Brien
Niall O'Brien was Ireland's top scorer against India with 75 runs [Getty]

Pakistan are third on the table with six points after five matches and Ireland are level on points with them at fourth spot. The Asian side's net run rate is -0.194, while that of Ireland is -1.014.

If West Indies win and Pakistan lose to Ireland on Sunday, then Misbah-ul-Haq's side and West Indies will have six points and the team with the better net run rate will be the fourth team to qualify for the knockout stages.

A defeat for Ireland and a victory for West Indies will end Ireland's World Cup campaign as their net run rate will further drop. They need a win against Pakistan to qualify and should that happen, they will finish third in Group B with eight points.


Pakistan to win

Betting Odds (

  • Pakistan to win: 1/4
  • Ireland to win: 3

Team news


Possible XI: Ahmed Shehzad, Sarfraz Ahmed (WK), Younis Khan, Misbah-ul-Haq (C), Sohaib Maqsood, Umar Akmal, Shahid Afridi, Wahab Riaz, Rahat Ali, Sohail Khan, Mohammad Irfan.


Possible XI: Williams Porterfield (C), Paul Stirling, Ed Joyce, Niall O'Brien, Andy Balbirnie, Gary Wilson (WK), Kevin O'Brien, John Mooney, Alex Cusack, George Dockrell, Andy McBrine.