Matthew Morgan
Bristol utility back Morgan did not feature during the warm-up win in Ireland on 29 August Getty

Wales have announced their 31-man squad to contest the 2015 Rugby World Cup, with Bristol's Matthew Morgan, Corey Allen of Cardiff and Bath lock Dominic Day among the most notable selections by head coach Warren Gatland.

English-born Exeter prop Tomas Francis also makes the cut, while Alex Cuthbert and Justin Tipuric have both been assured of their places. Samson Lee and Liam Williams are both included despite struggling with Achilles tendon and foot problems respectively, while Gatland appears to have followed Australia's lead by only opting for two specialist hookers in Ken Owens and Scott Baldwin but no Kristian Dacey.

Blues fly-half Gareth Anscombe is perhaps the most obvious omission. The former New Zealand U20 international earned his one and only cap earlier in August but has been deemed as expendable behind Dan Biggar and Rhys Priestland. Gloucester flanker Ross Moriarty has also been left out, along with the likes of Eli Walker, Tyler Morgan, Scott Andrews and Rob Evans.

Wales finished third in this year's Six Nations despite a thumping 60-21 final day victory over Italy in Rome. An experimental side lost 35-21 in the first of two tests against Ireland earlier in August, although that defeat was swiftly avenged with a 16-10 win at the Aviva Stadium on 29 August that was secured courtesy of a first-half try from Tipuric.

Gatland's men have one final warm-up match against Italy to come next weekend before beginning their World Cup campaign against Uruguay in Cardiff on 20 September. Clashes against England, Fiji and Australia also await in a difficult Pool A.

Wales' 31-man World Cup squad

Forwards: Tomas Francis, Paul James, Aaron Jarvis, Gethin Jenkins, Samson Lee, Scott Baldwin, Ken Owens, Jake Ball, Luke Charteris, Bradley Davies, Dominic Day, Alun Wyn Jones, Taulupe Faletau, James King, Dan Lydiate, Justin Tipuric, Sam Warburton

Backs: Gareth Davies, Rhys Webb, Lloyd Williams, Dan Biggar, Rhys Priestland, Cory Allen, Jamie Roberts, Scott Williams, Hallam Amos, Alex Cuthbert, Leigh Halfpenny, Matthew Morgan, George North, Liam Williams