Scottish Independence: Richard Dawkins and Mick Jagger Amid 200 Public Figures Against Union Break
Scottish Independence: (Pictured) Richard Dawkins and Mick Jagger Amid 200 Public Figures Against Union Break Reuters

Some 200 scientists, rock stars, Olympians and actors have banded together to urge Scottish people to vote against independence in the referendum, in just over a months' time, by signing an open letter to the Scottish people entitled Let's Stay Together.

Scientists Stephen Hawking and Richard Dawkins, as well as Sir Mick Jagger and Dame Judi Dench are among the signatories, who in total hold 44 Bafta awards, 18 Olympic gold medals, 2 Turner prizes and 1 Nobel prize.

"The decision on whether to leave our shared country is, of course, absolutely yours alone. Nevertheless, that decision will have a huge effect on all of us in the rest of the United Kingdom," said the letter.

"We want to let you know how very much we value our bonds of citizenship with you, and to express our hope that you will vote to renew them. What unites us is much greater than what divides us. Let's stay together."

The letter was penned by television historian Dan Snow and historian Tom Holland.

Scottish people will vote in an independence referendum on 18 September, 2014, and will be asked the straight "yes/no" question: "Should Scotland be an independent country?"

The referendum period started on 30 May.

Recent polls have showed that Scots are still likely to vote against independence, although the gap between the Yes and No vote has been closing over the last few months.

The Full List of Signatories in Alphabetical Order:

William Dalrymple

Eddie Izzard

Sir Patrick Stewart

Sir Bruce Forsyth

Sir Mick Jagger

Stephen Hawking

Jenny Agutter

Sir Ben Ainslie

Kriss Akabusi

Roger Allam

Kirstie Allsop

Alexander Armstrong

Sir David Attenborough

Steve Backley

Baroness Joan Bakewell

Frances Barber

Andy Barrow

John Barrowman

Mike Batt

Glen Baxter

David Aaronovitch

Helena Bonham-Carter

Stanely Baxter

Martin Bayfield

Mary Beard

Sarah Beeny

Anthony Beevor

Angelica Bell

Dickie Bird

Cilla Black

Graeme Black

Roger Black

Malorie Blackman

Ranjit Bolt

Alain de Botton

William Boyd

Tracey Brabin

Lord Melvyn Bragg

Jo Brand

Gyles Brandreth

Rob Brydon

Louisa Buck

Simon Callow

Will Carling

Paul Cartledge

Guy Chambers

Nick Cohen

Michelle Collins

Colonel Tim Collins

Olivia Colman

Charlie Condou

Susannah Constantine

Steve Coogan

Dominic Cooper

Ronnie Corbett

Simon Cowell

Jason Cowley

Sara Cox

Amanda Craig

Steve Cram

Richard Curtis

Tom Daley

Richard Dawkins

Dame Judi Dench

Jeremy Deller

Lord Michael Dobbs

Jimmy Doherty

Michael Douglas

Simon Easterby

Gareth Edwards

Jonathan Edwards

Tracey Emin

Sebastian Faulks

Bryan Ferry

Ranulph Fiennes

Ben Fogle

Amanda Foreman

Neil Fox

Emma Freud

Bernard Gallacher

Kirsty Gallacher

George Galloway

Sir John Eliot Gardiner

Bamber Gascoigne

David Gilmour

Harvey Goldsmith

David Goodhart

Lachlan Goudie

David Gower

AC Grayling

Will Greenwood

Tamsin Greig

Baroness Tanni Grey-Thompson

Lord Charles Guthrie

Haydn Gwynne

Maggi Hambling

Mehdi Hasan

Sir Max Hastings

Peter Hennessy

James Holland

Tom Holland

Tom Hollander

Gloria Hunniford

Conn Iggledun

John Illsley

Brendan Ingle

Betty Jackson

Sir Mike Jackson

Howard Jacobson

Baroness PD James

Griff Rhys Jones

Terry Jones

Christopher Kane

Sir Anish Kapoor

Ross Kemp

Paul Kenny

Jemima Khan

India Knight

Martha Lane Fox

Baroness Doreen Lawrence

Tory Lawrence

Kathy Lette

Rod Liddle

Louise Linton

John Lloyd (journalist)

John Lloyd (producer)

Lord Andrew Lloyd Webber

Gabby Logan

Kenny Logan

Sarah Lucas

Dame Vera Lynn

James May

Margaret MacMillan

Stephen Mangan

Davina McCall

Sir Ian McGeechan

Heather McGregor

Andy McNab

John Michie

David Mitchell

Lord John Monks

Lewis Moody

Michael Morpurgo

Bill Morris

David Morrissey

Philip Mould

Al Murray

Neil Stuke

Sir Paul Nurse

Andy Nyman

Peter Oborne

Sir Michael Parkinson

Fiona Phillips

Andy Puddicombe

Lord David Puttnam

Anita Rani

Esther Rantzen

Sir Steve Redgrave

Derek Redmond

Pete Reed

Lord Martin Rees

Peter Reid

Baroness Ruth Rendell

Sir Cliff Richard

Hugo Rifkind

Sir Tony Robinson

David Rowntree

Ian Rush

Greg Rutherford

CJ Sansom

June Sarpong

Simon Schama

John Sessions

Sandie Shaw

Helen Skelton

Sir Tim Smit

Dan Snow

Peter Snow

Phil Spencer

David Starkey

Lord Jock Stirrup

Neil Stuke


Tallia Storm

David Suchet

Alan Sugar

Graeme Swann

Stella Tennant

Daley Thompson

Alan Titchmarsh

James Timpson

Kevin Toolis

Lynne Truss

Gavin Turk

Roger Uttley

David Walliams

Zoë Wanamaker

Robert Webb

Richard Wentworth

Sir Alan West

Dominic West

Kevin Whateley