Steve Hansen
Steve Hansen is attempting to downplay expectations after New Zealand's unbeaten run to the semi-final Getty Images

Reigning champions New Zealand have made just one change to their team for the Rugby World Cup semi-final against South Africa at Twickenham, with Joe Moody replacing the injured Wyatt Crockett at loose-head prop. Ben Franks comes into the matchday 23 as a result.

Ritchie McCaw sets a new record with his 12<sup>th appearance at the showcase event as All Blacks captain, surpassing England's Martin Johnson and Will Carling, Raphaël Ibañez of France, South Africa's John Smit and Wales skipper Sam Warburton, all of whom have led their nations on 11 occasions in a World Cup. McCaw also makes in 22<sup>nd appearance in the tournament, one behind record holder Jason Leonard.

New Zealand swatted aside France in the quarter-final to reach the last four and are overwhelming favourites to become the first side to successfully retain the World Cup in the eighth edition of the tournament. Coach Steve Hansen is, however, under no illusion as to the task at hand against a South Africa side who beat Wales to reach this stage.

"We are right where we want to be," Hansen said. "We are really excited. It has been a great week and we are ready to go. Hopefully there will be a lot of All Black support and they will make a lot of noise.

"Externally some people have got carried away, but internally it has been really important to put a full stop on it. You have got to enjoy it but then put in a full stop. Otherwise, you don't go from great to great but from great to struggling. It is going to require another top performance on Saturday:

"You either stand up and be counted or go home. Even worse, you have to play that other game ([the hird-place play-off]."

New Zealand team to face South Africa

15. Ben Smith, 14. Nehe Milner-Skudder, 13. Conrad Smith, 12. Ma'a Nonu, 11. Julian Savea, 10. Daniel Carter, 9. Aaron Smith; 1. Joe Moody, 2. Dane Coles, 3. Owen Franks, 4. Brodie Retallick, 5. Sam Whitelock, 6. Jerome Kaino, 7. Richie McCaw, 8. Kieran Read.

Replacements: 16. Keven Mealamu,17. Ben Franks, 18. Charlie Faumuina, 19. Victor Vito, 20. Sam Cane, 21. Tawera Kerr-Barlow, 22. Beauden Barrett, 23. Sonny Bill Williams