The Afghanistan cricket team will be looking to qualify for their second consecutive T20 World Cup Getty

Afghanistan take on Zimbabwe in the ninth match of the 2016 ICC World T20 qualifiers on 12 March (Saturday) at the Vidarbha Cricket Association Stadium, Nagpur.

Where to watch live

The match will start at 9.30am GMT. Live coverage of the game is available in the UK on Sky Sports 2 and Sky Sports 2 HD. In India, the game will be telecast on Star Sports 1 and Star Sports 3. Click here for the live streaming link.


Afghanistan take on Zimbabwe in what is a must-win game for the two sides in the Group B qualifiers at the Vidarbha Cricket Association Stadium on 12 March. The winner of this game will qualify for the Super 10 of the main draw.

Afghanistan come into this game on the back of consecutive wins and currently sit on the top of the table with 4 points. Both their batsmen and bowlers have looked good so far in the World T20 qualifiers. What has been especially impressive is that they have played as a team and the spirit with which they play the game is refreshing to see.

Spinner Mohammad Nabi and wicketkeeper Mohammad Shahzad are key if Afghanistan are to beat Zimbabwe, while the presence of Pakistan batting legend Inzamam-ul-Haq in the dugout is a definite boost for the team, who will be looking to participate in their second consecutive T20 World Cup.

Zimbabwe too come into this game on the back of two wins and have four points, just behind their opponents Afghanistan on run rate. Brendan Taylor's absence due to retirement is still keenly felt. However, skipper Hamilton Masakadza has lead his troops well, with seniors Vusi Sibanda, Elton Chigumbura and Sean Williams all pulling through for the team.

Zimbabwe have played four World T20 tournaments so far and if they continue in the same vein there is no reason why we won't see them playing against the big guns in a week's time.


Afghanistan to win

Betting odds (betfair)

Afghanistan to win: 5/6

Zimbabwe to win: 5/6

Team news


Possible XI:Mohammad Shahzad (wk), Noor Ali Zadran, Asghar Stanikzai (c) Gulbadin Naib, Mohammad Nabi, Shafiqullah, Dawlat Zadran, Samiullah Shenwari, Najibullah Zadran, Rashid Khan, Amir Hamza.


Possible XI:Hamilton Masakazda (c), Vusi Sibanda, Richmond Mutumbami (wk), Sean Williams, Sikandar Raza, Malcolm Waller, Elton Chigumbara, Donald Tiripano, Wellington Masakazda, Tinashe Panyangara