Twitter has launched a new immersive homepage designed to engage offline users. The new page will display real time tweets to mobile users who have either not logged in to the website or don't have an account.

The refreshed homepage also displays real time updates from celebrities and news websites, allowing both online and offline users to sift through and search for tweets. Twitter is rolling out its new homepage , which was tested in the US and Japan, to 23 countries worldwide.

Twitter said in its blog: "Today, we're excited to announce improvements to that will bring those great Tweets to even more people across the globe. It's real-time and straight from the source, just like the Twitter experience for those who log in. Starting today, anyone can explore and discover different topics and stories as they occur, including some that are tailored just for you based on your location."

Prior to the update, mobile users who had not logged in to Twitter's website could only view a log in panel, with a blown up, customised photograph in the background. The social networking giant currently has around 320 million registered users. However, it attracts about 500 million people on an average monthly basis, the BBC reported.

The move reflects Twitter's intention to expand its user base. The company has been struggling to compete with rivals like Facebook and Snapchat. Twitter also recently saw some of its major executives make an exit, which in turn caused further speculation among investors about the company's recent downward trajectory in the share market.

The new layout may increase awareness of the user experience among offline and unregistered users. However, whether it will be successful in encouraging more users to register with the website, remains to be seen.

The feature is slated to be rolled out to countries listed below:

Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Canada, Colombia, France, Germany, Kenya, India, Indonesia, Italy, Mexico, Netherlands, Nigeria, Portugal, Saudi Arabia, South Korea, Spain, South Africa, Taiwan and the UK.