The shortlist for the European Golden Boy award has been released and it is good news for English clubs with Arsenal and Liverpool both boasting two representatives among the nominees.

The annual trophy is decided by sports journalists from across Europe to decide who is the best player under the age of 21.

Raheem Sterling
Sterling has made a huge impression in the Liverpool first team this season [Reuters]

Liverpool youngsters Raheem Sterling and Jonjo Shelvey have both made the list, while Arsenal are represented through Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain and Joel Campbell.

Manchester City also have one player on the shortlist as striker John Guidetti is recognised for his outstanding performances for Feyenoord where he managed to score 20 goals in just 23 games on a season-long loan in Holland.

The Liverpool duo of Sterling and Shelvey appear to have made the list for their superb performances at the start of the season, both players having forced their way into the first team plans of Brendan Rodgers.

Both midfielders have also seen their efforts recognised by their country, with Roy Hodgson giving them their first call-up to the England squad earlier this month.

Oxlade-Chamberlain is another bright young prospect who has forced his way into the England set-up after making an impact in the Arsenal first team last season.

The 19-year-old made 16 appearances in the Premier League last season and was a member of the England squad that took part in Euro 2012 earlier this summer.

His fellow Gunner Campbell may not be as well known to English football fans as he is yet to start a game for Arsenal. However, he impressed while playing on-loan last season at French side Lorient, while this season he is playing for Real Betis in Spain.

While yet to become a big name in European football, Campbell has an impressive record playing for Costa Rica and, despite being just 20-year-old, has scored six goals in his 15 appearances.

The award, which is decided by journalists from Tuttosport, L'Equipe, Marca, Bild, The Times and De Telegraaf, has previously been won by some of the biggest names in world football.

Lionel Messi, Wayne Rooney, Rafael van der Vaart and Mario Balotelli have all won the European Golden Boy award, while last season's winner was Mario Gotze of Borussia Dortmund.

The complete list of nominees is:

David Alaba - Bayern Munich

Jano Ananidze - Spartak Moscow

Christian Atsu - FC Porto

Jean-Christophe Bahebeck - Troyes

Joel Campbell - Real Betis

Luc Castaignos - FC Twente

Thibaut Courtois - Atletico Madrid

Philippe Coutinho - Inter

Gerard Deulofeu - Barcelona

Julian Draxler - Schalke

Dudu - Dynamo Kyiv

Stephan El Shaarawy - AC Milan

Christian Eriksen - Ajax

Mario Gotze - Borussia Dortmund

John Guidetti - Manchester City

Isco - Malaga

Jese - Real Madrid

Ola John - Benfica

Vaclav Kadlec - Sparta Prague

Koke - Atletico Madrid

Mateo Kovacic - Dinamo Zagreb

Milan Lalkovic - Vitoria Guimaraes

Erik Lamela - Roma

Jurgen Locadia - PSV Eindhoven

Samuele Longo - Espanyol

Lazar Markovic - Partizan Belgrade

Bruno Martins Indi - Feyenoord

Iker Muniain - Athletic Bilbao

Ahmed Musa - CSKA Moscow

Pedro Obiang - Sampdoria

Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain - Arsenal

Magomed Ozdoev - Lokomotiv Moscow

Paul Pogba - Juventus

Mohamed Salah - Basel

Jonjo Shelvey - Liverpool

Raheem Sterling - Liverpool

Raphael Varane - Real Madrid

Marco Verratti - Paris Saint-Germain

Granit Xhaka - Borussia Monchengladbach