The 15 finalists in a vote to decide the first entrant into the World Video Game Hall of Fame have been announced by The Strong National Museum Of Play. Included are games like Super Mario Bros, The Legend of Zelda, Minecraft and Pong.

Sonic The Hedgehog, Space Invaders, Tetris and Doom are also included, including a few less likely candidates like Angry Birds and The Oregon Trail.

A public vote is ongoing with The Sims out in front at the time of writing with Mario and Zelda behind it, but the final decision will fall to a committee of industry folk and journalists ahead of an announcement on 4 June.

Criteria that will be judged include the game's status within the industry, it's fame, impact on culture and its iconic status.

The full list of Hall of Fame candidates includes...

  • Angry Birds
  • DOOM
  • FIFA
  • The Legend of Zelda
  • Minecraft
  • The Oregon Trail
  • Pac-Man
  • Pokémon
  • Pong
  • The Sims
  • Sonic the Hedgehog
  • Space Invaders
  • Super Mario Bros.
  • Tetris
  • World of Warcraft