Virat Kohli
Virat Kohli finished the tournament as the leading run-scorer with 973 runs Getty

The 2016 edition of the Indian Premier League saw Sunrisers Hyderabad being crowned as the new champions. No one at the start of the tournament would have even guessed that the Hyderabad outfit could go on to win the competition, considering their lack of big-name players in the squad.

Skipper David Warner had bigger plans and marshalled his squad, leading from the front to take Sunrisers to victory, he was helped by a fantastic bowling attack – by far the best attack in the tournament.

This year's IPL saw a number of matches being closely fought, with the best reserved for the play-off stages where all four games went down to the wire.

IBTimes UK takes a look at all the statistics and records that have been broken in the 2016 season.

973 - Most runs scored in a single season by Virat Kohli to get the Orange Cap. Kohli was comfortably ahead of the 733 runs scored by Chris Gayle and Michael Hussey in 2012 and 2013 respectively.

848 - Runs scored by Sunrisers Hyderabad's David Warner. In any other season this number would have easily helped him pick the Orange Cap.

9 - Most fifties scored by a player in a single season of the IPL. David Warner registered nine such scores.

4 - Most centuries scored by a player in a single season of the IPL. Virat Kohli hit four tons for the Royal Challengers Bangalore.

4110 - Runs scored by Virat Kohli, the most by a player in the tournament since its inception.

3 - Virat Kohli became the first captain to post 500 plus runs in three separate seasons. He scored 634 runs in 2013 and 505 runs in 2015.

229 - The highest partnership in IPL history set by Kohli and De Villiers against Gujarat Lions this year. They beat their own record of 215* set in 2015 against Mumbai Indians.

144 - Highest margin of victory. RCB beat Gujarat Lions by 144 runs, beating the record set against the former in the inaugural match of the competition in 2008, when KKR thrashed them by 140 runs.

11 - Most 50 plus scores in IPL history. Kohli scoring seven fifities and four hundreds this season.

5 - The number of times Warner has scored 90 runs or more in an IPL innings, the most by any batsman.

23 - Wickets taken by Bhuvneshwar Kumar to bag the Purple cap for most wickets this year.

19 - Catches taken by AB De Villiers. The most taken by a fielder in a single season of the IPL.