Kenya's Daniel Wanjiru has won the men's elite race at the London Marathon. Wanjiru, 24, saw off world record holder Kenenisa Bekele to cross the finishing line with a time of two hours, five minutes and 48 seconds.

In the women's elite race, Mary Keitany triumphed, crossing the finish line in two hours, 17 minutes and one second, a time good enough to beat Ethiopa's Tirunesh Dibaba who finished second, with a time of two hours, 17 minutes and 56 seconds.

Ethiopia's Bekele threatened to close in on the men's race leader in the final stages, only for Wanjiru to summon a final burst to finish strongly and claim victory. Bedan Karoki, also of Kenya finished in third place.

David Weir meanwhile won his seventh wheelchair title.

The six-time Paralympic gold medallist saw off the challenge of defending champion Marcel Hug to clinch first place with a time of one hour and 31 minutes and six seconds.

Weir's latest triumph sees him surpass the six the haul of Tanni Grey-Thompson, who won six titles in the women's wheelchair race.

Manuela Schar meanwhile won this year's women's wheelchair race with a new course record.

Daniel Wanjiru
Daniel Wanjiru crosses the finishing line in the men's elite race. Reuters