Follow live coverage of the Euro 2016 qualifying draw here

Spain national team players celebrate with trophy after beating Italy in Euro 2012 final. [Reuters] Reuters

53 European nations are all set to embark on a journey towards the Euro 2016 when the draw commences at the Palais des Congres Acroprolis in Nice on Sunday.

Unlike the previous editons of the tournament, 24 nations will qualify for the final competition is scheduled to begin in June 2016 in France.

Where to Watch Live

The qualifying draw is set to begin at 11:00am GMT. Live coverage will be available on Sky Sports News. Follow the draw on UEFA's official website.


The Euro 2016 witnesses a change of format and the final stage of the tournament will see 24 nations compete for the trophy instead of 16. France have already secured their place as the hosts of the tournament.

A total of 53 nations are distributed into six pots and one team will be drawn from each pot and slotted among nine groups. Groups A to H will see six countries face each other while Group I will have a total of five teams.

Teams are divided into six pots according to their national team coefficient rankings which is based on qualifying and final tournament results of the last three major competitions which includes, 2010 Fifa World Cup, Uefa Euro 2012 and the 2014 World Cup qualifying.

The winners of the groups along with the runner-up along with the best third-placed team in the qualifying stages will progress into the final tournament. The other eight third-placed teams will battle it out for the remaining four vacant places.

The presentation will be carried out by UEFA General Secretary Gianni Infantino and Dutchman Ruud Gullit and Frenchman Bixente Lizarazu who were part of the championship winning team in 1988 and 1998 respectively.

The teams in the draw are as follows:

Pot 1

  • Spain
  • Germany
  • Netherlands
  • Italy
  • England
  • Portugal
  • Greece
  • Russia
  • Bosnia-Herzegovina

Pot 2

  • Ukraine
  • Croatia
  • Sweden
  • Denmark
  • Switzerland
  • Belgium
  • Czech Republic
  • Hungary
  • Republic of Ireland

Pot 3

  • Serbia
  • Turkey
  • Slovenia
  • Israel
  • Norway
  • Slovakia
  • Romania
  • Austria
  • Poland

Pot 4

  • Montenegro
  • Armenia
  • Scotland
  • Finland
  • Latvia
  • Wales
  • Bulgaria
  • Estonia
  • Belarus

Pot 5

  • Iceland
  • Northern Ireland
  • Albania
  • Lithuania
  • Moldova
  • FYR Macedonia
  • Azerbaijan
  • Georgia
  • Cyprus

Pot 6

  • Luxembourg
  • Kazakhstan
  • Liechtenstein
  • Faroe Islands
  • Malta
  • Andorra
  • San Marino
  • Gibraltar