Shara Proctor
Shara Proctor was knocked off top spot by a world-leading jump from American Tianna Bartoletta Getty

Great Britain's Shara Proctor came agonisingly close to winning World Championship gold for the first time in the women's long jump, but eventually had to settle for second-place following an enthralling battle with American Tianna Bartoletta in Beijing.

Anguillan-born Proctor, who finished fourth at the Commonwealth Games last summer, broke her own national record with a leap of 7.07m to position herself at the head of the pack and narrowly passed the 7m mark once again before being pipped to the line with a massive jump of 7.14m from the 2005 champion.

Lorraine Ugen finished a respectable fifth, but it was another testing evening for Katarina Johnson-Thompson at the Bird's Nest Stadium. Looking to recover from a disastrous heptathlon effort during which she fell dramatically from medal contention with three consecutive fouls in the long jump before having to complete a meandering 800m, the 22-year-old could only manage two efforts at 6.63m to end up in 11th place.

After her latest disappointment, she told BBC Sport: "It's such an amazing competition and I crave events like this. I'm really disappointed not to be in the final-eight but I gave everything I could. I don't know why this has been sent to test me, this has been one of the worst weeks of my life, but hopefully I can bounce back next year."

Dina Asher-Smith
Dina Asher-Smith embraces Dafne Schippers following the women's 200m final Getty

Elsewhere on day seven, starlet Dina Asher-Smith did not manage to claim a medal in an extremeley quick women's 200m final but still managed a new British record of 22.07 seconds to finish fifth.

Dafne Schippers took gold with the third-fastest time in history behind Florence Griffith Joyner and Marion Jones, outsprinting Jamaican pair Elaine Thompson and Veronica Campbell-Brown on the final straight.

Despite a strong start, Tiffany Porter finished fourth in the 100m hurdles, behind Danielle Williams, Cindy Roleder, Alina Talay and Brianna Rollins. Sister Cindy Ofili sadly did not qualify.