2017 Tony Awards
Host Kevin Spacey performs onstage during the 2017 Tony Awards at Radio City Music Hall Theo Wargo/Getty Images for Tony Awards Productions

The 71st Annual Tony Awards took place on 11 June at the Radio City Music Hall in New York and by all counts was a theatrical extravaganza, with tap dancing, numerous costume changes and to lead it all to its climax, Kevin Spacey as host.

Obviously, following in the steps of last year's Hamilton wins and James Corden's brilliant performance as host, the House Of Cards actor had some big shoes to fill, and he tried to attempt it with a take on all the top nominated shows to grace the stage this past year.

Leading the pack was Dear Evan Hansen, which took home six Tonys – for best musical, leading actor, featured actress, best book, original score and orchestrations.

Hello, Dolly! followed close behind with four awards, for best musical revival, leading actress, featured actor and costume design.

James Earl Jones was selected as this year's Lifetime Achievement Award winner in honour of his long and distinguished career in the theatre. "I want to thank my wife Ceci (Cecilia Hart). for being such a wonderful companion in my life and in my work," he said on receiving the award. "And for being the great co-producer of our son Flynn and for being so dazzling on the red carpet."

Read the complete winners list below:


Dear Evan Hansen



Musical revival

Hello, Dolly!

2017 Tony Awards
Bette Midler accepts the award for Best Performance by an Actress in a Leading Role in a Musical for Hello, Dolly! onstage during the 2017 Tony Awards Theo Wargo/Getty Images for Tony Awards Productions

Play revival


Leading actor, play

Kevin Kline, Present Laughter

Leading actress, play

Laurie Metcalf, A Doll's House, Part 2

Leading actor, musical

Ben Platt, Dear Evan Hansen

2017 Tony Awards
Ben Platt, poses with his award for best lead actor in a musical for Dear Evan Hanson during the 2017 Tony Awards Jason Kempin/Getty Images for Tony Awards Productions)

Leading actress, musical

Bette Midler, Hello, Dolly!

Featured actor, play

Michael Aronov, Oslo

Featured actress, play

Cynthia Nixon, The Little Foxes

2017 Tony Awards
Cynthia Nixon, winner of the award for best featured actress in a play for The Little Foxes, poses in the press room during the 2017 Tony Awards Getty Images

Featured actor, musical

Gavin Creel, Hello, Dolly!

Featured actress, musical

Rachel Bay Jones, Dear Evan Hansen

Book, musical

Dear Evan Hansen, Steven Levenson

Original score

Dear Evan Hansen, music and lyrics, Benj Pasek and Justin Paul

Scenic design, play

Nigel Hook, The Play That Goes Wrong

Scenic design, musical

Mimi Lien, Natasha, Pierre & the Great Comet of 1812

Costume design, play

Jane Greenwood, The Little Foxes

Costume design, musical

Santo Loquasto, Hello, Dolly!

Lighting design, play

Christopher Akerlind, Indecent

Lighting design, musical

Bradley King, Natasha, Pierre & the Great Comet of 1812

Direction, play

Rebecca Taichman, Indecent

Direction, musical

Christopher Ashley, Come From Away


Andy Blankenbuehler, Bandstand


Alex Lacamoire, Dear Evan Hansen

Special Tony Award for lifetime achievement in the theatre

James Earl Jones

2017 Tony Awards
James Earl Jones and Cecilia Hart attend 71st Annual Tony Awards Dimitrios Kambouris/Getty Images for Tony Awards Productions

Special Tony Award

Gareth Fry and Pete Malkin, sound designers for The Encounter

Regional Theater Tony Award

Dallas Theater Center, Dallas

Isabelle Stevenson Tony Award

Baayork Lee

Tony Honours for excellence in the theatre

Nina Lannan, Alan Wasser