Mitchell Johnson
Johnson is recalled for the first time since facing India.

Australia have included Mitchell Johnson and one-day captain George Bailey in the 12-man squad for the first Ashes test match against England in Brisbane.

Injured fast-bowler Mitchell Starc is the only alteration from the fifth test draw at the Oval in August, with captain Michael Clarke, Shane Watson and Ryan Harris all included despite injury concerns.

Johnson, who endured a torrid Ashes series in 2010/11, is likely to make his first test appearance since March while Bailey, who averages 56 against England in ODI cricket and has 14 first class centuries to his name could earn his maiden test cap at the Gabba.

National selector John Inverarity said: "We have settled on a strong 12-player squad for the opening Test of this important series.

"Ten players who represented Australia in its most recent Test match, which was at the Oval in August, have been retained in this squad. Mitchell Starc is unavailable due to injury and he has been replaced by Mitchell Johnson.

"We have included George Bailey in this line-up and are excited by what he can offer at Test level. George has shown outstanding international form over the past 20 months, including the recent limited-overs series in India. He is calm and composed and comes into the squad full of confidence.

"Mitchell Johnson has been bowling impressively in recent times. He has good rhythm and is generating good pace.

"James Faulkner has retained his place in the squad and his all-round development over the past five months has been most noticeable and pleasing.

"As selectors we are confident that this squad will provide options for a well-balanced XI that will acquit itself very well in Brisbane."

England's 17-man Ashes squad meanwhile is preparing for the third and final warm-up game against New South Wales ahead of the first test with the fitness of captain Alastair Cook, Matt Prior and Kevin Pietersen still of the upmost concern.

Cook is nursing a back problem, while respective calf and knee issues for Prior and Pietersen have flared up in Australia and both are receiving intense treatment to ensure they feature in the opening test.

After winning the summer series 3-0, England go in search of a fourth successive series win for the first time in 123 years this winter.

Australia squad for 1st Ashes test

Michael Clarke, Brad Haddin, George Bailey, James Faulkner, Ryan Harris, Mitchell Johnson, Nathan Lyon, Chris Rogers, Peter Siddle, Steven Smith, David Warner, Shane Watson.