Kevin Pietersen's international exile will continue after his omission from the England test squad for the winter tour to India.

Pietersen was dropped from all forms of cricket after his disillusion with the England dressing room led to allegations he sent test messages to members of the opposing South African team surrounding then captain Andrew Strauss.

Following discussions between the England and Wales Cricket board and Pietersen following Strauss' subsequent retirement, the decision has been taken to leave the 32 year old at home.

Kevin Pietersen
Pietersen has again been left on the sidelines. Reuters

ECB Managing Director Hugh Morris said: "Both ECB and England team management have had meetings with Kevin Pietersen to address the issues which led to his omission from the final Investec Test match against South Africa.

"These discussions remain private and confidential and, as there are issues still to be resolved, Kevin has not been considered for selection for the India tour."

In the absence of Strauss and Pietersen, Somerset's Nick Compton and Yorkshire's Joe Root have both been handed maiden test call-ups while Eoin Morgan returns to the fold as well as Samit Patel.

Root averaged 41 with the bat during the County Championship last season, while Compton, whose grandfather scored 5807 runs in 78 tests for England, scored 1494 runs at 99.60.

"Nick Compton has performed well consistently for Somerset in county cricket this season, made big hundreds and shown that he has the temperament and the technique to play at a higher level," he said.

"Joe Root is a player who has been successful at every level from county cricket through to EPP and England Lions, and he deserves this opportunity to step up to the next level and press his case for a place in the Test side."

Ravi Bopara, who pulled out of the third test against South Africa in the summer for personal reasons, is also omitted despite featuring in the one-day series against The Proteas.

England will be led by permanent skipper Alastair Cook after he replaced Strauss following his retirement after the test series defeat to South Africa.

The four test series starts on 15 November against India in Ahmedabad, before subsequent matches at Mumbai, Kolkata and Nagpur.