Sweden celebrate their 5-0 win against Slovenia. [Reuters]

The top two teams in Men's Ice Hockey, Sweden and Finland, battle it out for a place in the final of the event in the Sochi Winter Olympics 2014 at the Bolshoy Ice Dome on Friday.

Where to Watch Live

The face-off is set to begin at 12 noon GMT. Live coverage of the game will be available on BBC Two, BBC Red Button 2 and BBC Online. Catch the highlights on BBC Red Button 2 at 9:00pm GMT.


Sweden secured their progress to the semi-final by thumping Slovenia in the quarter-finals. Niklas Kronwall's men held a narrow 1-0 lead until the end of second period with Alexander Steen scoring a goal with just over a minute of play left in the first period.

However, Par Marts' side had to wait until the third period to see his men smash four more goals beyond the Slovenian goaltender Robert Kristan. Denis Sedin and Loui Eriksson made it 3-0 before Carl Hagelin hit a brace to make it 5-0.

Sweden have maintained a 100% record in this year's tournament, having won all their three matches in Group C.

Meanwhile, in the other quarter-final Finland upset the Russian Federation, 3-1, to qualify into the last four of the competition.

The bronze medallists in Vancouver 2010 Olympics had gone down 1-0 within eight minutes. But three goals followed for Erkka Westerlund's side with Juhamatti Aaltonen, Teemu Selanne and Mikael Granlund scoring within the next 18 minutes of the match.

Sweden and Finland previously met in the preliminary rounds of the 2010 Olympics when the Swedes won 3-0.

Team Form

Finland's Mikael Granlund celebrates his goal against Russia. [Reuters]


In Sochi 2014 (Last Four, most recent first): W W W W

Last Result: Sweden 5-0 Slovenia


In Sochi 2014 (Last Four, most recent first): W L W W

Last Result: Finland 3-1 Russian Federation

Team News


Goaltenders: Henrik Lundqvist; Jhonas Enroth

Defenders: Jonathan Ericsson, Niklas Kronwall (+C); Niklas Hjalmarsson, Johnny Oduya; Erik Karlsson, Alexander Edler; Oliver Ekman-Larsson

Forwards: Daniel Alfredsson (+A), Patrik Berglund, Alexander Steen; Nicklas Backstrom, Loui Eriksson, Daniel Sedin; Jakob Silfverberg, Marcus Johansson, Gabriel Landeskog (+A); Gustav Nyquist, Jimmie Ericsson, Carl Hagelin, Marcus Kruger


Goaltenders: Tukka Rask; Kari Lehtonen

Defenders: Kimmo Timonen (+A), Sami Vatanen; Olli Maatta, Sami Salo; Sami Lepisto, Juuso Hietanen; Lasse Kukkonen, Ossi Vaananen

Forwards: Teemu Selanne (+C), Jarkko Immonen, Mikael Granlund; Olli Jokinen, Tuomo Ruutu, Jussi Jokinen; Petri Kontiola, Lauri Korpikoski, Juhamatti Aaltonen; Jori Lehtera, Antti Pihlstrom, Leo Komaraov (+A)