Kirsten Dunst arrives at the CFDA Fashion awards at the Lincoln Center's Alice Tully Hall in New York City
Actress Kirsten Dunst to join the 69th edition of Cannes Film Festival as a juror REUTERS/Andrew Kelly

On 11 May, the 69<sup>th edition of the Cannes Film Festival will kick off and the film organisers have already decided on the jury bench to be headed by president George Miller. With a history of having the most prestigious artists and film-makers from around the world associated with the much-awaited film-festival, the 2016 version too is all set to get the ball rolling.

According to the organising committee, the nine-member jury will comprise acclaimed actors such as Kirsten Dunst, Donald Sutherland, Mads Mikkelsen, and regulars from the fashion world like Vanessa Paradis and Italian director Valeria Golino. This eclectic group of internationally recognised figures will vote in several categories such as best actor, best actress, best director, and the highlight of the festival, the Plame d'Or, to determine the winners.

The jury has been selected by producer Katayoon Shahabi and directors Arnaud Desplechin, Laszlo Nemes and George Miller, also serving as the president.

According to a report in Deadline, "(the festival) always sought to adopt a universal and international approach, and in tune with this tradition, George Miller will be surrounded by eight luminaries of world cinema." From veterans to newcomers, overall the jury makes for an interesting bunch of creative heads.

Dunst, 33, won the best actress award at Cannes for Melancholia in 2011, while Canadian actor Sutherland happens to be a two-time Golden Globe award winner. Danish actor Mikkelsen had also bagged a best actor award in Cannes for his performance in The Hunt and French darling Paradis was seen in films such as Girl On The Bridge, Heartbreakerand Café De Flore.

With 21 films in the competition, the 2016 Cannes Film Festival will run from 11 May to 22 May and the winners will be announced during the closing ceremony of the festival. Woody Allen's film Café Society starring Kristen Stewart will be screened as the opening night film while the film awarded by Palme d'Or will be shown during the closing night.