The Bafta committee has announced the nominations for this year’s awards Reuters

The Bafta committee has announced its nominations for the upcoming awards, with the Stephen Hawking biopic, The Theory of Everything, leading the way for best film.

Amy Adams and Julianne Moore are up for best actress, while Benedict Cumberbatch and Ralph Feinnes are in the race for Best Actor.

Leading Actor

Benedict Cumberbatch - The Imitation Game

Eddie Redmayne - The Theory Of Everything

Jake Gyllenhaal - Nightcrawler

Michael Keaton - Birdman

Ralph Fiennes - The Grand Budapest Hotel

Leading Actress

Amy Adams - Big Eyes

Felicity Jones - The Theory Of Everything

Julianne Moore - Still Alice

Reese Witherspoon - Wild

Rosamund Pike - Gone Girl

Supporting Actor

Edward Norton - Birdman

Ethan Hawke - Boyhood

J.K. Simmons - Whiplash

Mark Ruffalo - Foxcatcher

Steve Carell - Foxcatcher

Supporting Actress

Emma Stone - Birdman

Imelda Staunton - Pride

Keira Knightley - The Imitation Game

Patricia Arquette - Boyhood

Rene Russo – Nightcrawler

Best Film



The Grand Budapest Hotel

The Imitation Game

The Theory Of Everything

Outstanding British Film


The Imitation Game



The Theory Of Everything

Under The Skin

Outstanding Debut By A British Writer, Director Or Producer

Elaine Constantine - (Writer/Director) Northern Soul

Gregory Burke (Writer), Yann Demange - (Director) '71

Hong Khaou - (Writer/Director) Lilting

Paul Katis (Director/Producer), Andrew De Lotbinière (Producer) - Kajaki: The True Story

Stephen Beresford (Writer), David Livingstone (Producer) - Pride

Animated Film

Big Hero 6

The Boxtrolls

The Lego Movie


Birdman - Alejandro G. Iñárritu

Boyhood - Richard Linklater

The Grand Budapest Hotel - Wes Anderson

The Theory Of Everything - James Marsh

Whiplash - Damien Chazelle

The nominations for the rising star award were previously announced by Bafta and will see Unbroken star Jack O'Connell up against Gugu Mbatha-Raw, Miles Teller, Shailene Woodley and Margot Robbie.

The Bafta Film Awards will be hosted by Stephen Fry on 8 February.