2016 Vivo Indian Premier League (IPL 9), match four

Royal Challengers Bangalore beat Sunrisers Hyderabad by 45 runs at the M. Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru

  • Virat Kohli, AB de Villiers and Sarfaraz Khan all impress with the bat as the much-fancied RCB begin their campaign with a comfortable home victory despite two wickets each from Bhuvneshwar Kumar and tournament debutant Mustafizur Rahman
  • The hosts reached 227-4 from their allotted overs
  • Sunrisers captain David Warner hit a 25-ball 58 in response, but Tom Moody's side were unable to chase down such a huge total following a mediocre middle-order showing
Virat Kohli
Royal Challengers Bangalore captain Virat Kohli won player of the tournament at the recent ICC World Twenty20 AFP

That is all from IBTimes UK for now, but we will be back at the same time tomorrow to bring you live coverage of the Knight Riders' meeting with Mumbai Indians at Eden Gardens.

In the mean time, you can join my colleague Josh Evans for minute-by-minute updates from Manchester City's pivotal Champions League quarter-final second-leg decider against Paris Saint-Germain.



So the much-fancied Royal Challengers, spearheaded by two of their formidable top four in captain Virat Kohli and AB de Villiers, get their 2016 IPL campaign off to a comfortable winning start.

They face Delhi Daredevils next, while the Sunrisers return to the Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium to host Kolkata Knight Riders on Saturday.


Royal Challengers Bangalore beat Sunrisers Hyderabad by 45 runs


20th over - Sunrisers Hyderabad 182-6

Sharma begins the final over with his latest four edged off Watson and past third man to the fence. The Australian ships a wide with a high delivery and concedes three more to Sharma and one to Morgan to end the match.


19th over - Sunrisers Hyderabad 173-6

Sharma powers Patel through deep extra-cover for four. He then knocks a single to mid-wicket and Morgan faces two dot balls before picking up four from the final couple with shots to square leg and behind the bowler.


18th over - Sunrisers Hyderabad 164-6

A single from Morgan is followed by a six from Sharma, who just about clears the rope at third man after a diving intervention from Patel. Another four and a leg bye to end the over, with the Sunrisers needing a mammoth 64 runs from the final 12 deliveries.

Something tells me they might not do it...


17th over - Sunrisers Hyderabad 152-6

It's all over bar the shouting now, but Morgan continues undeterred and Sharma hits his first four runs off Patel.


16th over - Sunrisers Hyderabad 147-6

A full toss from Watson is batted away by Reddy for a single. Morgan strikes another for four and picks up three further runs before his partner falls to a tricky yorker that removes his leg-stump.

That should be it for the Sunrisers.


Wicket - Reddy (32) b Watson (Sunrisers Hyderabad 147-6)


15th over - Sunrisers Hyderabad 139-5

Reddy is trying his best to chase down that formidable target, pushing a four through deep mid-wicket before another six beats Kohli on the boundary. He takes 12 and Morgan adds two singles.


14th over - Sunrisers Hyderabad 125-5

Reddy is frustrated by two dot balls before clobbering a huge six over long-on. He quickly follows that up with another big six to long-off. 12 from the over.


13th over - Sunrisers Hyderabad 113-5

A run each for Reddy and Morgan before the former beats third man for four. He ends with a single over mid-wicket.


12th over - Sunrisers Hyderabad 106-5

Reddy gets off zero and a far more successful Morgan sweep is knocked away through fine-leg for four. A dot-ball yorker ends the over.


Morgan tries an unconvincing reverse sweep that bounces clear for one leg bye. Chahal then produces a dot ball and gives up a wide before a short delivery to Hooda is awkwardly pulled straight to De Villiers. Five wickets down and the Sunrisers are heading towards defeat.


Wicket - Hooda (6) c De Villiers b Chahal (Sunrisers Hyderabad 101-5)


11th over - Sunrisers Hyderabad 99-4

Hooda finds the boundary rope at long-on and hits a single to third man. New batsman Morgan is off the mark. Another good over for RCB.


Hooda gets his first run but will need a new partner after Henriques produces a top-edge off Milne that is comfortably taken by Rasool. That's three wickets in as many overs for RCB, who give up just seven runs in the process.


Wicket - Henriques (19) c Rasool b Milne (Sunrisers Hyderabad 93-4)


10th over - Sunrisers Hyderabad 92-3

Henriques pulls his second four though long-on but fails to score from the last delivery of the over. New man Deepak Hooda is yet to face a ball.


Henriques adds another single to his collection and Chahal gives up a wide before inviting Ojha to find De Villiers at long-on for a duck. It's all beginning to unravel for the Sunrisers.


Wicket - Ojha (0) c De Villiers b Chahal (Sunrisers Hyderabad 88-3)


Ninth over - Sunrisers Hyderabad 86-2

Ojha comes in and weathers an immediate appeal as the ball flights past the bat and carries behind. The umpire dismisses any notion of an outside edge and he survives.


Henriques quickly finds Gayle for no run before edging for two. He picks up another single before RCB remove the crucial Warner for 58 as a short ball from Watson is edged high and into the waiting hands of Milne.

Vital breakthrough.


Wicket - Warner (58) c Milne b Watson (Sunrisers Hyderabad 86-2)