India take on Canada in their final game in Group B on Friday (12 August).

Where to watch live

The match starts at 3pm BST. The hockey matches of the Rio 2016 Olympics will be telecast live on BBC One, BBC Four and Red Button in the United Kingdom. In addition to this, there will be up to 24 HD video streams to follow the event on desktop, mobile and tablet.

Below is a list of all Olympics 2016 Hockey broadcasters from across the world.


India, who are the dark horses of the tournament, suffered a 2-1 defeat to giants Netherlands in their last game on 11 August. Despite that loss they have qualified for the knock-out stages for the first time since the Moscow Games in 1980.

The Men In Blue are currently placed third in the table, with six points from four games, one point ahead of Argentina and even with one game left have booked their place in the knock-out game. Coach Roelmant Oltmans should be given credit for the vast improvement seen in such a short space of time, although he would want the players to step up especially when it comes to their defence.

The other worry for India is that a majority of their goals have come from penalty corners, and they will need key midfielder Sardar Singh to play to his potential and contribute in the offensive third.

sardar singh
Sardar Singh is yet to fire for Team India at the Rio Olympics 2016 Getty

Their opponents Canada have had a disastrous tournament so far, losing all of their games so far to be stuck at the bottom of the league table. In fact, such has been their performance that they have conceded 15 goals and only scored five.

The Canadians will be playing for pride with key players Scott Tuper, Mark Pearson, Matthew Guest and David Carter keen to show the world what they are capable of on the pitch.

Team news


Goalkeepers: PR Sreejesh (c)

Defenders: Harmanpreet Singh, Rupinder Pal Singh, Kothajit Singh, Surendar Kumar, VR Raghunath,

Midfielders :Manpreet Singh, Sardar Singh, SK Uthappa, Danish Mujtaba, Devender Walmiki, Chinglenana Singh.

Forwards: SV Sunil, Akashdeep Singh, Ramandeep Singh, Nikkin Thimmaiah


Goalkeepers: Antoni Kindler, David Carter

Defenders: Adam Froese, Benjamin Martin, David Jameson, Gordon Johnston, Hudson Stewart, Scott Tupper

Midfielders: Jagdish Gill, John Smythe, Mark Pearson, Paul Wharton, Richard Hildreth, Taylor Curran

Forwards :Brenden Bissett, Devohn Noronha- Teixera, Gabriel Ho-Garcia, Iain Smythe, James Kirkpatrick, Keegan Pereira, Matthew Guest, Matthew Sarmento, Philip Wright

Below is a list of TV channels that would air the game around the world:

United KingdomBBC
ArgentinaAmerica Movil, DirecTV, ESPN, Fox Sports
BrazilFox Sports Brazil
ChileESPN, Fox Sports
ColombiaESPN, Fox Sports
FranceFrance 4, Foot+
GermanyZDF, ARD
HondurasClaro Sports
Hong KongTVB Sport
IrelandLFC TV
IndiaStar Sports
Middle EastbeIN Sports Arabia
New ZealandSky Television
PortugalSport TV3
SpainTVE La 1, TDP
United StatesUSA Network, NBC Sports