Blizzard are looking to wind back the clock for World of Warcraft subscribers by giving its players the chance to replay classic dungeons at a lower level and with gear scaled to the challenge. "Timewalking" as Blizzard are calling it, will be introduced in patch 6.2.

Taking place over selected weekends, the Timewalking events will send players back to play "a randomly selected old-school dungeon" according to a patch preview on

"When you Timewalk these dungeons, you'll find that your character's power and gear has been scaled down to a fraction of what they normally are," it reads. "For the first time in years, some dungeons you outgrew long ago will once more put your skills to the test."

That doesn't mean higher level characters will be robbed of a prize befitting their normal level though. Loot in each dungeon will also scale up so it is useful to players at the top levels. A list of the dungeons that players will replay is below.

The ability to Timewalk is limited to level 71 and above for Burning Crusade dungeons and level 81 and above for Wrath of the Lich King dungeons.

The Burning Crusade

  • The Arcatraz
  • Black Morass
  • Mana-Tombs
  • The Shattered Halls
  • The Slave Pens

Wrath of the Lich King

  • Ahn'kahet: The Old Kingdom
  • Gundrak
  • Halls of Lightning
  • The Nexus
  • Utgarde Pinnacle