Labour whips Conor McGinn and Holly Lynch have resigned following leader Jeremy Corbyn's party reshuffle. The resignations come after chief whip Rosie Winterton was sacked on Friday (7 October).

"Family reasons" and "constituency majorities" were cited as the key factors in the resignations of McGinn and Lynch, according to Sky News, however, both were known to be close allies of Winterton.

Winterton, who has been chief whip since 2010, has been replaced by Nick Brown, the long-standing MP for Newcastle upon Tyne East, who served as whip and secretary to the Treasury under Gordon Brown.

"I would like to thank the whips and the Parliamentary Labour Party for the support they have given me," Winterton said in a statement following the announcement.

"I wish Nick Brown every success in his new role."

Corbyn made 11 new appointments in the latest Labour reshuffle on Thursday (6 October) to rock the party.

One of the top positions went to his close ally Hackney MP Diane Abbott, who was promoted to Shadow Home Secretary.

Corbyn said in a statement: "I welcome Nick's agreement to serve as chief whip to the parliamentary Labour party. I would like to pay tribute to Rosie Winterton for her six years' exceptional service as Chief Whip. She has played an outstanding role in her support for me as leader and for the Labour Party as a whole."