Pakistan take on Canada in a play off for the 5th-6th position in the Sultan Azlan Shah Cup 2016 at Ipoh, Malaysia, on 16 April (Saturday).

Where to watch live

Match starts at 8.40am BST/1.10pm IST. There is no live coverage of the game in the UK. In India, live coverage is available on Star Sports 1 and Star Sports 3. It can be viewed via live stream on StarSports.


Pakistan take on Canada in a match that will decide the 5th and 6th position in the Sultan Azlan Shah Cup on 16 April (Saturday). The Men in Green finally registered their second win in their last group game, beating Japan 4-1 on Friday.

Pakistan's offensive players had a brilliant day on the field, stepping up and restoring some pride for the nation. They eventually finished in fifth place with six points after six games. Skipper Muhammad Imran will be hoping that his team continues this form against Canada and, despite not fighting for a medal, they finish in fifth place.

Their opponents Canada come into this game after being thrashed by Australia in their final group game, losing 3-0. The Canadians have not had a very good Sultan Azlan Shah Cup 2016, finishing in sixth place in the points table, registering just a single win.

The team management will know that they will have to look at their tactics and make some changes if they are to compete in future tournaments.

Team news


Goalkeepers: Imran Butt, Mazhar Abbas

Defenders: Muhammad Imran, Muhammad Irfan (C), Syed Kashif Shah

Midfielders: Fareed Ahmed, Muhammad Rizwan junior, Muhammad Toseeq Arshad, Rashid Mahmood, Ammad Shakeel Butt

Forwards: Muhammad Waqas Sharif, Shafqat Rasool, Muhammad Umar Bhutta, Muhammad Kashif Ali, Muhammad Dilber, Muhammad Rizwan Senior, Ali Shan, Muhammad Azfar Yaqoob



Goalkeepers: Antoni Kindler, David Carter

Defenders: Adam Froese, Benjamin Martin, David Jameson, Gordon Johnston, Hudson Stewart.

Midfielders: Jagdish Gill, John Smythe, Mark Pearson, Paul Wharton, Richard Hildreth, Sukhpal Panesar, Taylor Curran.

Forwards: Brenden Bissett, Devohn Noronha-Teixeira, Gabriel Ho-Garcia, Iain Smythe, James Kirkpatrick, Keegan Pereira, Matthew Guest, Matthew Sarmento, Philip Wright.