British soap awards
Phillip Schofield will host this year's British Soap Awards ITV

The biggest night of television is here, when some of the UK's favourite shows will win the top honours during the British Soap Awards 2016. Hosted by Phillip Scholfield, the ceremony will be held at London's Hackney Empire on 28 May and will air this Sunday (29 May) at 8pm on ITV.

Popular shows Coronation Street, Doctors, EastEnders, Emmerdale and Hollyoaks are fighting in the top soap category while actors Jack P Shepherd, Charlie Clapham, Danny Dyer, Danny Miller and Kieron Richardson will compete in the best actor category.

Earlier, IBTimes UK had predicted the winners of the glitzy ceremony. Click here to known whether your winners expectations are similar to that of ours.

The winners will be decided through public voting. Fans were able to vote for the best actor, best actress and best British soap. Voting lines are now closed.

In 2015, EastEnders raced ahead of its competitors and won the best soap award along with seven other wins. Fans of the British soap opera are expecting their favourite show to weave the same magic at the glamorous ceremony.

Click here to watch the event live online via the ITV Player or the ITV Hub app.

Here are the nominees for British Soap Awards 2016 apart from the best actor and best soaps:

Villain of the Year:

Connor McIntyre Pat Phelan - Coronation Street

Adam Astill Anthony Harker - Doctors

Ellen Thomas Claudette Hubbard - EastEnders

Ryan Hawley Robert Sugden - Emmerdale

Sophie Austin Lindsey Roscoe - Hollyoaks

Best single episode

Live Episode Coronation Street

The Heart of England (3000th Episode) Doctors

Shabnam's Stillbirth EastEnders

Aftermath of Village Hall explosion Emmerdale

Patrick Blake's right to die decision Hollyoaks

Best female dramatic performance

Tina O'Brien Sarah Platt - Coronation Street

Sarah Moyle Valerie Pitman - Doctors

Lacey Turner Stacey Branning - EastEnders

Charlotte Bellamy Laurel Thomas - Emmerdale

Zoe Lucker Reenie McQueen - Hollyoaks